Belated Father’s Day Card for Pop-Pop

I was the first grandchild, and stubbornly changed ‘Poppa’ (which the family tried to get me to call my grandfather)  into ‘Pop-Pop’. The family is entirely female, so Pop-Pop is our Patriarch.

He doesn’t fish, or hunt anymore (he’s 87 years old,  he doesn’t do much but enjoy retirement with his wife LOL), nor does he camp… so I was at a total loss at what card to make. Most ‘manly’ stamps involve activities he doesn’t take part in anymore.

I used the Cricut cartridge A Child’s Year, for the scalloped shapes and the silhouette. I used my Sizzix embosser on the green scallop, and also on the little girl. Then I added Prima flowers, a bit of sheer ribbon, and glitter glue.

I inked the yellow cardstock with turquoise ink… when I had trouble getting the ink in the little corners, I cut apart a clean make-up sponge, squashed it into the ink pad, and ran it around the edges. I bought a bag of 30 really ugly cosmetic sponges for $1… and the ease of inking made them more than worth that.

It was so difficult to make a masculine card. I had trouble choosing colors. I had trouble figuring out a die-cut to use. And the nagging voice in my head kept yelling ‘Put more glitter on that card!’

I think overall it turned out nicely.

** Update: Pop-Pop loved the card…. he couldn’t believe I made it. AND it went right up on the Refrigerator (which is usually reserved for baby pictures and winning scratch-off tickets my grandparents have yet to redeem… a true place of honor!)

1 Comment

Filed under Cards

One response to “Belated Father’s Day Card for Pop-Pop

  1. You did an incredible job with this card. Lovely colors and intricate details.

Leave a Reply

