I’ve Got A “Sweet Tooth’ For Some Card Candy!

I love, Love, LOVE Miniatures. Maybe it’s because they make me say ‘Fee Fi Fo Fum’ (I’m barely over five feet), or maybe it’s because everything is cuter when it’s smaller (again, I’m barely over five feet LOL)…

Card Candy combines my two loves; papercrafting and miniature-making, in a perfect harmony of more cuteness. These pieces  ‘sweeten’ a card front, or scrapbook page, but can also be used on gift card holders, tags, Frappuccino bottles, gift bags…

Think about how much a small pack of 3D embellishments costs at the scrapbook store. Now, look around at your punches, stamps, and try making your own. You can use up small scraps of paper, odd brads, and bits of ribbon. Traditionally, card candy has at least two layers of paper and one embellishment per piece, but you can add as much or as little as you want.

These are my first attempts at card candy, from last year.

For the above, I used mostly Studio G clear stamps, which are $1 a set. The dove is by Inkadinkado. I try to use lots of dimension in my card candy, by using foam.

I love using a corner rounder on card candy. The ornament is from the Season’s Greetings Cricut cartridge. It’s hard to tell from the scan, but the Martini has a glass-like effect added.

I love this spider, from the Doodlecharms Cricut cartridge. The candy bag is from Doodlecharms also. The tags are from the Bags, Tags, and Boxes cartridge. I added a punched bat and spiderweb by Martha Stewart.

The little stamps are from Target’s $1 section, and the Happy Halloween is from the $1 bin at AC Moore’s. Each small candy has a piece of ribbon, and either a rhinestone or wiggly eyes.

This extra Flower card candy got put to good use on a last-minute Frappuccino bottle gift. The tags were all cut from the Cricut Tags, Bags, and Boxes cartridge. I love the Making Memories patterned paper, it was what determined my color scheme.

Leave a comment

Filed under Card/ Page Candy

Leave a Reply

