Thank You, Sailors and Soldiers!

 

Sheepshead Bay Training Center at Kingsborough

I attend Kingsborough Community College in Brooklyn, and every day I pass this plaque… I feel extremely lucky to attend college at such a historic site.

Originally, the United Stated Maritime Training Station was on the same spot the college is built on. This plaque is dedicated to all the men trained in that Sheepshead (pronounced ‘sheeps-head’) Bay location who lost their lives in World War II.

The plaque reads “These– volunteers all– answered their country’s call, signed the articles, and sailed– to eternity”

I just want to say… no, I want to yell… ‘THANK YOU’ to the men and women who served and who continue to serve this country.

2 Comments

Filed under Whatever Isn't a Craft

2 responses to “Thank You, Sailors and Soldiers!

  1. Hi, I hope you receive this comment even though you wrote this post a couple of weeks ago. I just felt like I wanted to connect with you since you are in the Brooklyn area. I grew up in Brooklyn and Rockaway Beach. Do you live in the vicinity?
    I love both of these areas still.

    I just found your blog and have been really enjoying your writing. Thanks for doing it.
    Have a great day and enjoy the cooler air tomorrow.

    • I was born in Crown Heights, and grew up in Windsor Terrace (between Park Slope and Kensington). I now live in Midwood.
      Whereabouts did you live in Brooklyn? Are you still near New York? I don’t think I’ll ever leave Brooklyn (at least not willingly LOL), I missed it when I lived in Queens (Elmhurst, and South Ozone Park, not far from JFK and the Aqueduct)
      I must confess, the A train out to the Rockaways has the most scary and beautiful train ride over Broad Channel… please don’t be mad, Brooklyn, I still love you, but Queens has the best ride to the beach.

Leave a Reply

